Board of Directors

Ulrik B. Nielsen, PhD
Founder Chairman
Ulrik Nielsen, PhD, is a co-founder and President of Torque and has served as a member of our board of directors since August 2015. He was previously a founder of Merrimack (NASDAQ:MACK) where he served as the Chief Scientific Officer until 2015 and remains on the board of directors. At Merrimack, Dr. Nielsen was responsible for R&D and the early phases of clinical development. He also served as Chief Executive Officer of Silver Creek Pharmaceuticals, a majority-owned subsidiary of Merrimack, from July 2010 to March 2014. Dr. Nielsen holds a PhD in Molecular Biology from the University of Copenhagen and did research at UCSF and MIT.

Doug Cole, MD
Lead Director
Doug Cole, MD, has served as a member of our board of directors since August 2015. He has been a general partner of Flagship Ventures, where he has focused on life science investments, since 2001. At Flagship, Dr. Cole has led investments in Agios Pharmaceuticals (NASDAQ:AGIO), Alvine Pharmaceuticals, Avedro, CombinatoRx (NASDAQ:ZLCS), Concert Pharmaceuticals (NASDAQ:CNCE), Editas (NASDAQ:EDIT), Quanterix , Receptos (NASDAQ:RCPT), Seventh Sense Biosystems, and Tetraphase Pharmaceuticals (NASDAQ:TTPH). He co-founded Flagship portfolio companies Ensemble Therapeutics, Permeon Biologics, Moderna Therapeutics, and Syros Pharmaceuticals. He currently serves on the Boards of Directors of Agios, Denali, Editas, Ensemble, KSQ, and Quanterix and formerly served on the Board of Directors of Avedro, AVEO Pharmaceuticals (NASDAQ: AVEO), CombinatoRx, Concert, CGI, Moderna, Morphotek, Permeon, Receptos, Resolvyx, Selecta, Seventh Sense, Syros, and Tetraphase. Dr. Cole holds a BA in English from Dartmouth College and an MD from the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine.

John M. Dineen
John M. Dineen has served as a member of our board of directors since January 2016. He is an Operating Advisor to Clayton, Dublier & Rice, LLC, a private equity firm based in New York. Mr. Dineen serves as the Chairman of Healogics Corp and is a member of the board of directors of Merrimack (NASDAQ:MACK). From 1986 to 2015, Mr. Dineen served in a variety of leadership roles in the U.S., Europe, and Asia with the GE Company. During his tenure at GE, he served as President and Chief Executive Officer of GE Healthcare, Chief Executive Officer of GE Transportation, President of GE Plastics, General Manager of GE’s Power Equipment business, and General Manager of GE Appliance’s, Microwave and Air-Conditioning businesses. He holds BS degrees in Biology and Computer Science from the University of Vermont.

Bart Henderson, MBA
Bart Henderson, MBA, is a co-founder and Chief Executive Officer of Torque and has served as a member of our board of directors since July 2017. He was previously President and Founder of Rhythm and its subsidiary, Motus (acquired by Allergan), with responsibility for business development, finance, marketing, and manufacturing operations. Prior to that, he was Entrepreneur-in-Residence at MPM Capital; Chief Business Officer of Radius, where he was a founding employee; Head of Sales and Marketing at Vertex; Head of Business Development at Microbia (now Ironwood Pharmaceuticals); and also held marketing management positions at Amgen and Merck. Mr. Henderson received an MBA from Dartmouth’s Tuck School of Business and a BA from Amherst College.

Doug Lauffenburger, PhD
Doug Lauffenburger, PhD, has served as a member of our board of directors since January 2016. He is the head of the Department of Biological Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and a pioneer in applying engineering principles to biological research. His expertise spans multiple disciplines including chemical engineering, bioengineering, biotechnology process engineering, biophysics, quantitative cell and structural biology, systems biology, and applied mathematics. He has filed numerous patents, authored a key textbook on receptor biology, and published more than 200 peer-reviewed articles. Dr. Lauffenburger is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and has served on numerous bio/pharma industry scientific advisory boards including Pfizer, Astra-Zeneca, Eli Lilly, Johnson & Johnson, and Merrimack. Dr. Lauffenburger received a BS in Chemical Engineering from the University of Illinois and a PhD in Chemical Engineering from the University of Minnesota.

Back to Top